Dear’s birthday and 2nd year anniversary express celebration – Homemade Pizza Bread

03/09/2014

So, this year, besides dining at Three Little Pigs and The Big Bad Wolf , at which I have won a RM20 voucher on the lucky draw event..wuhoo (https://bellenmark.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/dears-1st-birthday-celebration-three-little-pigs-and-the-big-bad-wolf/), I decided to make something for dear too. Since he was coming to my place on Friday night, I decided to make him a quick dinner and after scouting and brainstorm with YY, I finally make up my mind – PIZZA BREAD!

I wasn’t thinking of writing my cooking experience at the beginning so I did not take much of photos but since it turns out to be a success and so simple to make, I’ve made up my mind to share my cooking experience with everyone here! (p/s: as everyone know I am an extremely lousy cooker..if I can make it..nobody in this world couldn’t make it..)

 

Here’s the list of ingredients:

1. Toppings – I chose sliced mushroom (bought a packet of it from Jaya Grocer for around RM5.90), bell pepper/capsicum  (I chose green instead of red and orange because I am using tomato paste sauce..yellow might make the toppings look more appeal..the choice is yours), chicken garlic salami (I bought one packet of chicken garlic salami which consisted of six pieces, costed around RM6.00). You can use sausages or any other preferred toppings like pineapple, onions..the choice is yours.

 

2. Shredded mozzarella cheese, low fat

 

3. Plain bread – you have a choice for the base and I choose plain bread because that’s what I have at home. Else, pita bread should make a good base too.

 

4. Butter or olive oil or any cooking oil – This is to pre-cook the toppings. I used butter for better taste but for healthy purpose. olive oil can be a good choice and make sure you chose the right types of olive oil as not all types of olive oil are suitable for frying.

 

5. Tomato-based pasta sauce – I bought a tin of Kimball spaghetti sauce

 

Procedures:

1.  Toast the plain bread (#3) at both sides until the bread is crispy and eventually harden. As my oven has only one layer of temperature control, so, I pre-heat the oven with about 80 degree C for approximately 10min before toasting the bread at both sides, at the same temperature for the same time range too.

My very simple oven.

My very simple oven.

2. Meanwhile, sliced the toppings (#1)  and fried slightly with butter or oil (#4) until the salami turns red/ well cooked. Otherwise, mixed the toppings (if you are not using salami or any meat) with olive oil and mixed herbs or oregano for flavouring. Put the toppings aside.

The down side of using butter is that the toppings turn out to be quite oily after fried. I suggest to put some tissues before putting the toppings to absorb the oil.

The down side of using butter is that the toppings turn out to be quite oily after fried. I suggest to put some tissues before putting the toppings to absorb the oil.

3. Spread the tomato-based sauce (#5) on the toasted bread. Put the fried toppings on the bread after applied the sauce. Spread some cheese (#2) on top of the toppings. If you prefer lots of cheese, put lots of cheese then!  Toast it again for another 5-10min or until the cheese is melted. Since I have already fried the toppings so I have absolutely no worry that the salami will not be well cooked!

Waiting...waiting.....

Waiting…waiting…..

4. DONE! Jeng! Jeng! How simple, right!?

Jeng! Jeng!

Jeng! Jeng!

Dear had five slices that night with some orange juices. Yummy~

Dear had five slices that night with some orange juices. Yummy~

2 thoughts on “Dear’s birthday and 2nd year anniversary express celebration – Homemade Pizza Bread

Leave a comment